Seatrade Maritime is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Seatrade scoops top honour at maritime journalism awards

Seatrade scoops top honour at maritime journalism awards
Three Seatrade writers won recognition at the annual Seahorse Club Awards for maritime journalism held in London last week, including the winner of the coveted "Seahorse Journalist of the Year 2014".

Charlie Bartlett was shortlisted in the Newcomer of the Year category, for his technical contributions to both the Seatrade Global news website and Seatrade Magazine.

Seatrade Global's New York-based correspondent and regular Dispatches writer Barry Parker likewise made the shortlist, this time in the Feature Journalist category, for one of his informed articles on Private Equity financing..

Seatrade Magazine editor Bob Jaques won the night's top honour of Seahorse Journalist of the Year 2014, for a series of cover stories he wrote for that quarterly publication.

The prize was awarded "for a trilogy of articles on diverse subjects including overcapacity in the supply chain, safety at sea following a spate of high-profile maritime casualties, and finally an in-depth interview with the ceo of the Scorpio Group. Each article showed a great depth of content and research and was written in a style most likely to engage the reader," commented the judges.

"These commendations are welcome recognitions of the quality of Seatrade Maritime content," said Seatrade publisher Mary Bond, "and of the hard work put in by our highly skilled team of writers and production staff, in both print and digital formats."

The nine Award categories drew a record 146 entries from 66 different journalists, including more submissions than ever before from outside the UK, with winners coming from as far afield as California, Singapore and Australia.. Judging was by a panel of senior representatives from leading industry companies which included APM Terminals, DP World, PSA, Shipserv, TT Club, UK P&I Club and Wallenius Wilhelmsen Logistics.

The Seahorse Club is a networking group for PR, marketing, advertising and journalism professionals within the freight, multimodal transport and logistics sectors. The group's John Rose Personality of the Year Award went to Michael Storgaard, senior press officer at Maersk Line, while Mark Brownrigg, ex-director general of the UK Chamber of Shipping, won the John Richman Lifetime Achievement Award.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
TMSRPan21-22 Category Promo 600_600-resize
Read Now

The 21st Edition of Panama Maritime Review

"We will invest in digital transformation, exploring innovative ways in which we can maxinimise the Canal's capacity to provide value guarentee quality of service to our customers."

Ricaurte Vásquez Morales, Panama Canal Administrator

Read Panama Maritime Review 2021/22 to find out more.

TMSRPan21-22 Category Promo 600_600-resize