Seatrade Maritime is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

IR Class chairman honoured at India Shipping Awards

IR Class chairman honoured at India Shipping Awards

Mumbai: Captain J C Anand, Chairman of Indian Register of Shipping, was the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement award at the India Shipping Awards Ceremony and Dinner in Mumbai last night.   

In accepting the honour, which he described as a "tremendously pleasant and welcome surprise", Capt Anand told the international audience of 400 guests "I want to share this prestigious award with all those who are committed to India finding its place at the very top of the maritime world.  It must happen.  It will happen." 

The ceremony, which kicked off the fourth annual India Shipping Summit (ISS), also honoured other high profile players for their achievements in the Indian and international maritime sector. These included Sabyasachi Hajara, current president of INSA and chairman of the Shipping corporation of India, who was presented with two awards: One to the Indian National Shipowners' Association (INSA) which was named the Policy Maker of the Year and the other for SCI which bagged the Deal of the Year (for its recent Navratna status and its role in increasing Indian tonnage). 

Elsewhere, Yudhishthir Khatau, md of Varun Shipping Company, who scooped the coveted Entrepreneur of the Year award was likened to shipping's new John F Kennedy and said to have been instrumental in "changing the maritime face of India." 

Bharat Sheth, md of Great Eastern Shipping Co Ltd, and Vijay Sheth of Great Eastern Offshore shared the award for Innovator of the Year.  Vijay Sheth gave thanks to the judges for "bringing the offshore sector the recognition it deserves."  He commented, "This is a sunrise industry with a strong, bright future."

Captain Sandeep Mehta, ceo of MundraPort, received the Infrastructure Developer of the Year award and Hans Ole Madsen was named International Maritime Player of the Year for his pivotal role as Maersk India's md.  Mr Madsen, who has lived in India for six years, said "I now proudly consider myself Indian."

From this morning, the India Shipping Summit 2008, which runs until tomorrow evening at Grand Hyatt Mumbai, sees senior government figures rubbing shoulders with international commercial leaders in a vibrant cross-border networking environment. 

The summit addresses key themes at local and global levels.  In focus are India's future as a global maritime player, finance to help it enter a new era, infrastructure opportunities, and the offshore oil and gas markets.  Other topics in the spotlight are shipbuilding in India, maritime technology and the changing regulatory arena, energy transportation and the industry's crewing crisis.

More than 40 international speakers will address the Summit.  To enable maximum participation from delegates, the summit features a unique series of special Open House Debates and For/Against votes.  The business networking programme includes another major dinner this evening, hosted lunches, plus welcome and farewell receptions.

The India Shipping Summit will return to Mumbai next year, 20-23 October, with an expanded programme including a major exhibition of international products and services.   [30/09/08]