Seatrade Maritime is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Middle East and India's finest honoured at Seatrade Awards in UAE

Middle East and India's finest honoured at Seatrade Awards in UAE

Dubai: Individuals, organisations and companies from across the region's shipping industry were honoured in the annual Seatrade Middle East & Indian Subcontinent Awards (SMEISA) which took place here this week.

Known as the 'Oscars' of the maritime world, the SMEISA awards were presented at a glittering gala dinner at the Atlantis The Palm Dubai attended by 750 of the who's who of the region's maritime and shipping industry. Categories were judged by a panel of independent judges, led by Efthimios Mitropoulos, secretary general of the International Maritime Organisation who was also Guest of Honour for the evening.

The evening also featured three special awards that were presented to individuals who have made exceptional contributions to the industry in the region and have dominated the headlines.  The Personality of the Year Award was presented to H.E Shaikh Daij Bin Salman Al Khalifa (pictured), chairman of Bahrain's General Organisation of Ports and  of Arab Repair & Shipbuilding Yard (ASRY), with Dr Mohamed Ali Abdelrahim, marine advisor to the Chairman & Director Maritime Sector, Department of Transport (DoT) UAE, picking up The Seatrade Outstanding Achievement Award.

Jamal Majid Bin Thaniah, Group CEO of Dubai World and Joint Vice Chairman of DP World, was honoured with The Seatrade Lifetime Achievement Award for his commitment to the improvement of port systems and global commercial supply chains throughout his career.  

Al Jazeera's senior anchorman Stephen Cole was master of ceremony for the evening, which took place on the eve  of the opening of the Seatrade Middle East Maritime exhibition and Money and Ships conference running this week in Dubai.

Other SMEISA 2010 winners were:

o      The Corporate Social Responsibility Award: ASRY
o      The Safety & Quality Award: Gulf Energy Maritime (GEM)
o      The Technical Innovation Award: Wärtsilä
o      The Environment Protection Award: Abu Dhabi Ports Company
o      The Education & Training Award: Hindustan Institute of Maritime Training
o      The Ship Repair/ Shipyard Award: Drydocks World - Dubai
o      The Ship Manager Award: Pioneer Ship Management Services
o      The Container Terminal Operator Award: DP World, UAE Region.
o      The Tanker Operator Award: Vela International Marine Ltd
o      The Bulk Operator Award: Emarat Maritime
o      The Ship Owner/Operator Award: NITC
o      The Port Authority Award: Ras Laffan Industrial City
o      The Workboats Award: Topaz Marine MENA
o      The Classification Society Award: Det Norske Veritas
o      The Ship Agent Award: Wilhelmsen Ship Service
o      The Marine Insurance Award: Oman Insurance Company
o      The Ship Finance Award: Qatar National Bank
o      The Marine & Offshore Services Award: Topaz Marine MENA
o      The Maritime Law Award: Fichte & Co
o      The Energy: Oil and Gas Award:  Ras Laffan Industrial City
o      Deal of the Year; Standard Chartered
o      Shipping Company of the Year: Topaz MENA