Seatrade Maritime is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

New leadership at Jurong Port

New leadership at Jurong Port

Singapore: Lee Chong Kwee (pictured) has been appointed the new chairman of Jurong Port's board of directors, taking over from Barry Desker, who had been chairman of the board since the port's corporatisation in early 2001. Lee currently performs the role of Corporate Advisor for Temasek Holdings and took over the new position at Jurong Port from January 1,2009.

He has previously held  positions with Singapore Airlines, MSAS Global Logistics, Exel Singapore and Pontiac Land. He currently sits on the Boards of Mapletree Investments, Singapore Post, Great Wall Cargo Airlines (China) and First Flight Couriers (India).

Jurong Port has also appointed two new directors to the Board: Mrs. Cheong Koon Hean, ceo of the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA), and Lionel Yeo Hung Tong, dean and ceo of the Civil Service College/Deputy Secretary (Development), Public Service Division, Prime Minister's Office.

Mrs Cheong was a Colombo Plan scholar and has been with URA for more than 25 years. In addition, she sits on the Boards of the National Heritage Board, Urban Land Institute and JTC Corporation.

Mr Yeo was an Overseas Merit scholar, had earlier served as a Director (Trade Division) at the Ministry of Trade & Industry, and as a Director (Taxation Policies) at the Ministry of Finance.

The new appointments bring the total number of directors on the Jurong Port Board to nine. The other directors are Ow Foong Pheng (JTC Corporation ceo), Lim How Teck, (Redwood International executive chairman), Goon Kok Loon (Global Maritime & Port Services chairman), Stephen Pan, (World-Wide Shipping Agency chairman), Heng Chiang Meng, (principal at Spear Consultancy) and Matthew Chan (Jurong Port ceo).  [13/01/09]