Seatrade Maritime is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Seatrade China Awards 2010 honours Huang Pingtao with Lifetime Achievement Award

Seatrade China Awards 2010 honours Huang Pingtao with Lifetime Achievement Award

Dalian: Some 250 top shipping executives gathered at the Shangri-La Hotel to honour 17 well-deserving award winners at the inaugural Seatrade China Awards held here yesterday.

The gala evening was capped off with the Seatrade Lifetime Achievement Award going to Mr Huang Pingtao, Chairman of the China Society of Naval Architects and Marine Engineers (CSNAME) since 2002. Before that Mr Huang had been in charge of China State Shipbuilding Corporation (CSSC) and China Shipbuilding Industry Corporation (CSIC), which experienced fast and healthy growth under his leadership.  

Winning the Entrepreneur of the Year was Mr Wang Deming, President of Qingdao Zhenghe Shipping Co, whose outstanding entrepreneurship and unparalleled market perspectives have brought about rapid developments to Zhenghe Shipping in less than 10 years.

The Seatrade Young Person of the Year went to Mr Sun Hong, General Manager of Dalian Port Corporation, who was presented the award by Capt Wei Jiafu, Chairman, China Shipowners' Association and President and CEO, COSCO Group.  The Award recognizes an individual below 45 years of age who has made an exceptional personal contribution to the China maritime industry.

Two other notable awards were the Deal of the Year, secured by BOURBON for its deal, signed in July 2010, with Sinopacific Shipbuilding Group to build 62 ships and the Ship of the Year which was a 180,000 dwt Chinese capesize developed by China Ship Design & Research Center Co, and designed in collaboration with Dalian Shipbuilding Industry Co, with Hebei Ocean Shipping Co taking an active part in pre-research and concept design.

Other winners were:
Environment Protection Award - OOCL
Corporate Social Responsibilty Award - Hebei Ocean Shipping Co
Education and Training Award - Shanghai Maritime University
Safety Award - CSC Nanjing Tanker Corp
Offshore Yard Award - COSCO (Nan Tong) Shipyard
Shipyard Award - Jinhai Heavy Industry Co
Technical Innovation Award - Solar Sailor Holdings
Ship Finance Award - China Ship Fund
Tanker Operator Award - China Shipping Development Co (China Shipping Tanker)
Bulk Operator Award - Hebei Ocean Shipping Co
Classification Society Award - China Classification Society
Port of the Year Award - Shanghai International Port (Group) Co

Chris Hayman, Chairman of Seatrade, said "China's shipping industry sails ahead faster than anyone else.  The future is very bright and the winners and finalists honoured at the inaugural Seatrade China Awards represent the companies and individuals who have forged this optimistic outlook."  [14/10/10]