Seatrade Maritime is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Vote now for the best of the best in India

Vote now for the best of the best in India

Mumbai: The India Shipping Summit 2007, organised by Seatrade and TradeWinds, is calling for nominations for a series of prestigious maritime awards.

The awards, for companies or individuals, will reflect excellence across the industry in India.

DT Joseph, former Indian government shipping secretary, says the country's shipping, ports and offshore sectors are all enjoying success. "Every move that motivates these sectors to do even better is welcome," said Joseph, who is chairing the independent judging panel.

There will be six awards categories covering policymaker of the year, deal of the year, entrepreneur of the year, infrastructure developer of the year (sponsored by Det Norske Veritas) and a lifetime achievement (sponsored by Braemar Shipping Services). Visit for details, including nomination forms. The deadline for nominations is 7 September.

Nominations will be judged by an independent panel of industry leaders including Indian Register of Shipping chairman Captain JC Anand, the former secretary-general of the International Chamber of Shipping and the International Shipping Federation, Chris Horrocks, and former Shipping Corp of India chairman and managing director PK Srivastava.

Winners will receive their trophies at a gala dinner on 30 October at the Grand Hyatt Lawns in Mumbai.  [03/08/07]