Seatrade Maritime is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

The winners of 8th Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia revealed

The winners of 8th Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia revealed
A total of 16 award winners were unveiled and honoured last night at the 8th Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia held at the Hong Kong Exhibition and Convention Centre, as part of the Hong Kong Logistics and Maritime Weeks.

Organised by Seatrade, the awards gala dinner saw 12 well-deserving winners selected from 54 finalists in the competitive categories. The winners have convinced an independent panel of judges of their outstanding performance and achievements despite keen competition and operating conditions, exhibiting strong resilience characteristic of the maritime industry.

Four special awards were presented to individuals for their exemplary work and contributions to the shipping industry. The prestigious Seatrade Lifetime Achievement Award, presented to a very select few to honour individuals for their significant and lasting contributions to the maritime industry in Asia went to George Chao, president of Wah Kwong Maritime Transport.

Gerardo Borromeo, vice chairman and ceo of Philippine Transmarine Carriers, Inc. and Angad Banga, executive director of The Caravel Group Limited, were presented the Seatrade Personality of the Year and Seatrade Young Person of the Year respectively.

Arthur Bowring, managing director of the Hong Kong Shipowners Association was presented the Contribution to the Development of the Hong Kong Maritime Cluster Award.

“This award is a much appreciated recognition of the hard work of all the staff at the Association,” said Bowring. “But we have to remember that any association is only as good as its members, and we are extremely fortunate in Hong Kong to have committed quality owners and ship managers, who have enthusiastically participated in the work of the association and our various events. It is through that participation that we have the close but inclusive maritime community that is recognised in the presentation of this award.”

Andrew Williams, managing director of Seatrade, commented: “We would like to congratulate all winners and express our heartfelt appreciation to all our sponsors, judges and supporting partners who have contributed greatly to the success of this event. The next Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia will return to Singapore in 2016 and we look forward to your continued support.”

Seatrade congratulates all winners of the Seatrade Maritime Asia Awards 2015:

Environment Protection Award: Swire Pacific Offshore Operations (Pte) Ltd

Technical Innovation Award: GAC EnvironHull Limited

Corporate Social Responsibility Award: Holman Fenwick Willan

Safety Award: Berge Bulk

Ship Manager Award: Fleet Management Limited

Ship Owner/Operator Award: Pacific Basin Shipping

Emerging Terminal Operator Award: Pusan Newport International Terminal

Maritime Logistics Award: Kerry Logistics

Maritime Law Award: Ince & Co

Ship Finance Award: Mayer Brown JSM

Shipbuilding & Repair Yard Award: Yangzijiang Shipbuilding (Holdings) Limited

Deal of the Year: ICBC Financial Leasing Co Ltd

Contribution to the Development of the Hong Kong Maritime Cluster 2015: Arthur Bowring

Seatrade Young Person of the Year: Angad Banga

Seatrade Personality of the Year: Gerardo Borromeo

Seatrade Lifetime Achievement Award: George Chao