Seatrade Maritime is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Winners unveiled at the 10th Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia

Winners unveiled at the 10th Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia
Honouring and recognising outstanding companies and individuals in the maritime industry, winners of the 10th Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia were announced on 23 June 2017 in Hong Kong.

With close to 400 top maritime executives in attendance, Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia, celebrating its 10th anniversary this year is widely acknowledged as one of the region’s most prestigious industry awards. Held annually to commemorate inspiring industry peers on their extraordinary efforts and contributions towards the maritime industry, a total of 15 awards were presented this year.

Winners for the 12 competitive categories were chosen by an independent panel of senior industry figures whilst recipients for the other three special awards namely the Seatrade Young Person of the Year Award, the Seatrade Personality of the Year Award and the Seatrade Lifetime Achievement Award, were decided by the Seatrade Senior Editorial Board.

Randy Chen, Vice Chairman, Wan Hai Lines, was awarded the Seatrade Personality of the Year and Edward Buttery, Chief Executive Officer, Taylor Maritime (HK) Ltd, was presented with the Seatrade Young Person of the Year.

The last award of the night, Seatrade Lifetime Achievement of the Year was presented to His Excellency Ambassador Carlos C. Salinas, Chairman, Philippine Transmarine Carriers, Inc . The award recognised the highly important role Ambassador Salinas has played in the development of the Philippines as the world’s leading supplier of seafarers to international shipping.

“Success of the Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia over the past 10 years would not have been possible without the unwavering support from our participants, sponsors, judges and supporting partners, of which we are deeply grateful and humbled. Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia 2018 will return to Singapore to be held in conjunction with the Singapore Maritime Week 2018 and we look forward to seeing you there,” commented Chris Hayman, chairman of Seatrade.

Below is the list of winners:

Education & Training Award: Malaysian Maritime Academy Sdn Bhd

Environment Protection Award: Berge Bulk

Technical Innovation Award: Mampaey Offshore Industries

Corporate Social Responsibility Award: Magsaysay People Resources Corporation

Safety Initiative Award: Keppel FELS Limited

Ship Manager Award: Fleet Management Ltd

Ship Owner/Operator Award: China Merchants Energy Shipping Co. Ltd.

Ports & Terminals Award: PSA Singapore

Maritime Law Award: Stephenson Harwood

Ship Finance Award: Ince & Co

Shipbuilding & Repair Yard Award: Sembcorp Marine Ltd

Deal of the Year Award: ICBC Financial Leasing Co. Ltd

Seatrade Young Person of the Year 2017: Edward Buttery

Seatrade Personality of the Year 2017: Randy Chen

Seatrade Lifetime Achievement 2017: His Excellency Ambassador Carlos C. Salinas

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.