Seatrade Maritime is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Seatrade Maritime Awards celebrates 15th year with the introduction of new awards & category

The Seatrade Maritime Awards, the largest and longest awards body for the maritime sector in the Middle East, Indian subcontinent, and African regions, recently announced the introduction of several new award categories to showcase the outstanding achievements within the maritime and shipping industries and across regions.

The new awards include Shipyard of the Year and Maritime Services Award under the ‘Industry’ category and the Integration of Women in the Maritime Sector Award under the ‘Personality and Community’ category. The premier award also introduces a new category, ‘Regional Focus’, which recognises the best regional performers through the Africa Maritime Award and the Indian Subcontinent Maritime Award.

Under the patronage of H.E. Sultan Ahmed Bin Sulayem, Chairman of Ports, Customs and Free Zone Corporation and Chairman of Dubai Maritime City Authority, the Seatrade Maritime Awards attracts over 700 industry leaders and government officials in a gala event held as part of the UAE Maritime Week 2018.

Organisers urge maritime industry players from the Middle East, Indian subcontinent and Africa to participate to 21 different awards distributed in four categories including Technical and Operational, Industry, Regional Focus, and Personality & Community.

Chris Hayman, Chairman of Seatrade, said: “As Seatrade Maritime Awards celebrates its 15th year, it is exciting to witness the massive maritime development taking place in the Middle East, the subcontinent and African regions. It is indeed significant to continue recognising and celebrating the achievements of the sector in various segments as they bring to the fore the best practices within the maritime and shipping industry. It is notable that the Middle East and neighbouring regions of Africa and the Indian subcontinent remains proactive in making a significant contribution in the global maritime sector, which also rightfully deserves recognition.”

Submission to entries are free of cost and can be done through the official Seatrade Maritime Awards entry system at on or before July 20, 2018. Winners will be honoured in a gala ceremony at the Atlantis, The Palm on Sunday, October 28, 2018.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.