Seatrade Maritime is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Ports and Ministers commit to 2028 shore power deadline

Port of Rotterdam Authority Workers install shore power equipment
Government ministers and port authorities from around the world signed a shore power declaration at the One Ocean Summit on February 10.

Joined by the European Investment Bank, the stakeholders agreed to make best efforts to deploy shore-side electricity supply by 2028, in particular for cruise and container vessels.

The signatories further agreed to reward the most environmentally friendly ship stopovers and promote actions which improve the environment around ports, including through reducing stopover fees for greener vessels.

The declaration the role of ports as accelerators of ecological and energy transition, the need for closer co-operation in fighting climate change, and the importance of the green corridors set out in COP26’s Clydebank Declaration.

EIB vice president, Ambroise Fayolle, said: “The European Green Deal and the sustainable growth of the EU blue economy can be achieved by encouraging vessels and ports to shift towards greener energy solutions for stopovers. Shipping is a big part of the world economy and can be part of the solution to decarbonisation.”

Port signatories of the shore power declaration were:

HAROPA, Marseille, Dunkerque (France), Port of Breme (Germany), Port of Hamburg (Germany), Port of Antwerp Bruges (Belgium), North sea ports (Belgium), Port of Ostende (Belgium), Port of Montreal (Canada), Port of Busan (South Korea), Port of Copenhagen (Denmark), Port of Los Angeles (United States of America), Port of Osaka (Japan), Port of Kobe (Japan), Port of Yokohama (Japan), Port of Tokyo (Japan), Port of Amsterdam (Netherlands), Port of Rotterdam (Netherlands), Port of Göteborg/Gothenburg (Sweden), Port of Malmö (Sweden), Port of Tanger (Morocco), Union Nationale des Industries de Manutention (UNIM), Union des Ports de France (UPF).

Ministerial support came from:

Germany: Volker Wissing, minister of transport and digital infrastructure

Belgium: Georges Gilkinet, deputy prime minister and minister of mobility

Canada: Omar Alghabra, minister of transport

South Korea: Kang Jong-gwan, minister of land and maritime transport

Croatia: Oleg Butković, minister of maritime affairs, transport and infrastructure

Denmark: Trine Bramsen, minister of transport

Japan: Tetsuo Saitō, minister of land, infrastructure, transport and tourism

Luxemburg: François Bausch, second deputy prime minister of Luxembourg, minister of defense, mobility, public works and internal security

Morocco: Nizar Baraka, minister of equipment and water

Netherlands: Mark Harbers, minister of infrastructure and water management

Poland: Andrzej Adamczyk, minister of infrastructure and construction

Portugal: Pedro Nuno Santos, minister of infrastructure and housing

Czech Republic: Martin Kupka, minister of transport

Sweden: Tomas Eneroth, minister of infrastructure