Seatrade Maritime is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

IMO elects new 40-member Council for 2020-21

The Assembly of the International Maritime Organization (IMO) has elected the new 40-member IMO Council that will be responsible, under the Assembly, for supervising the work of the international organisation.

With only two exceptions the line-up is the same as for 2018-19, with just Argentina elected in place of Sweden in Category B, and Kuwait instead of Liberia in Category C.

The full list for 2020-21 reads as follows:

Category A (10 States with the largest interest in providing international shipping services): China, Greece, Italy, Japan, Norway, Panama, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, UK, US.

Category B (10 States with the largest interest in international seaborne trade): Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, India, the Netherlands, Spain and the UAE.

Category C (20 States not elected under A or B above, which have special interests in maritime transport or navigation and whose election to the Council will ensure the representation of all major geographic areas of the world): Bahamas, Belgium, Chile, Cyprus, Denmark, Egypt, Indonesia, Jamaica, Kenya, Kuwait, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Morocco, Peru, the Philippines, Singapore, South Africa, Thailand and Turkey.

Amongst Category A members, Panama issued a statement welcoming its re-election as reiterating the position of the Panamanian registry as the world’s leading flag in terms of size, and pledging its commitment to “working on behalf of maritime safety, against environmental pollution, ensuring that standards on board ships are maintained in favour of its crews and to the empowerment of women in the maritime sector, among other important issues.”

Category B member United Arab Emirates reacted jubilantly to its election for the second consecutive time. The win “demonstrates our country's continuing endeavour to become a powerful member of the global shipping industry” said UAE Minister of Infrastructure Development and chairman of the Federal Transport Authority – Land and Maritime Dr. Abdullah Belhaif Al Nuaimi, adding that it represents “a forward push in the UAE’s move to create and implement international laws and regulations aimed at developing world transport and trade activity.”

Also in Category B, the Cyprus Shipping Chamber warmly congratulated the Cyprus Maritime Administration and particularly the new Shipping Deputy Ministry for achieving Cyprus’s re-election, thereby confirming “the international recognition that Cyprus has as a leading maritime centre.” In this way Cyprus will continue to “contribute actively in the drafting of International shipping policy, as well as to promote the interests of Cyprus shipping globally.” It added.