Seatrade Maritime is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Singapore crew change ban extended to more sub-continent nations

Photo: Wilhelmsen Crew change in Singapore
Crew change in Singapore
Singapore has banned crew change for seafarers with recent travel to Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Nepal.

Following a recent travel and crew change ban for those with travel to India in the previous 14 days due to the country’s sharp spike in Covid -19 cases similar measures were announced at the weekend for those arriving Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Nepal.

“Crew with recent travel history to Bangladesh,  Nepal,  Pakistan  and  Sri Lanka within the last 14 days preceding arrival to Singapore. This includes sign-on crew travelling to Singapore by flight as well as sign-off crew from vessels that have called at Bangladesh, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka,” the Maritime & Port Authority of Singapore (MPA) said in circular. The ban also covers sign on crew transiting Singapore from the four countries in the last 14 days.

The new measures were effective from 1 May at 23-59 hrs.

Singapore re-opened as a crew change hub in June last year with strict protocols in place. As of 12 April MPA said that it had facilitated over 120,000 crew changes in Singapore.