Seatrade Maritime is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Live From SMME 2016

Winners of the Seatrade Middle East Awards unveiled

Winners of the Seatrade Middle East Awards unveiled
Individuals, organisations and companies from across the shipping industry were honoured at the annual Seatrade Maritime Awards Middle East, Indian Subcontinent & Africa at a glittering gala dinner held at Atlantis, The Palm, Dubai last night.

Under the patronage of His Excellency Sultan Ahmed bin Sulayem, group chairman and ceo of DP World and chairman of Dubai Maritime City Authority (DMCA) and as part of Dubai Maritime Week, the Seatrade Maritime Awards reward excellence during an evening attended by some of the most high profile and senior industry professionals in the shipping and maritime industry.

The evening featured a surprise guest, English former football player and manager, Kevin Keegan, OBE, who entertained the audience with amusing football anecdotes. Also taking his share of the evening’s spotlight was prominent TV presenter, Nouraldin Al Yousuf, who acted as Emcee for the evening.

According to Chris Hayman, chairman of Seatrade: “The Seatrade Maritime Awards were established to offer a platform to promote significant contribution and pioneering advancements across the maritime and shipping world and along with the Seatrade Awards in London and the Seatrade Maritime Awards in Asia, are now widely regarded as the maritime premier awards globally.”

Caption: His Excellency Sultan bin Sulayem presented with a plaque, in recognition of his vision for African ports.

Please find below the list of winners of the Seatrade Maritime Awards 2016.

Safety and Quality Award: Drydocks World Dubai

Education and Training Award: Krishnapatnam Port Company Limited

Corporate Social Responsibility Award: ASRY (Arab Shipbuilding & Repair Yard)

Highly commended: Krishnapatnam Port Company Limited

Technical Innovation Award: Wärtsilä

Highly commended: Hubert Palfinger Technologies GmbH

Green Shipping Award: United Arab Shipping Company S.A.G

Offshore Marine Award for Owners & Operators: Halul Offshore Services Company W.L.L.

Highly commended: Topaz Energy and Marine

Ship Repair Innovation Award: Hubert Palfinger Technologies GmbH

Highly commended: Abu Dhabi Ship Building PJSC

Port Authority Award: Abu Dhabi Ports

Ship Agent Award: GAC Group

Highly commended: Inchcape Shipping Services and Sharaf Shipping Agency

Port Terminal Operator: Gulftainer

Contribution to Development of the Regional Maritime Cluster Award: Basra Gateway Terminal

Shipping Company of the Year: Oman Shipping Company S.A.O.C

Maritime Logistics Award: Abu Dhabi Terminals

Highly commended: International Ports Services Co. Ltd.

Deal of the Year: Tristar Transport LLC

Highly commended: Topaz Energy and Marine

Offshore Marine Development – Africa: CS Offshore DMCC

Seatrade Maritime News Readers' Choice Award: Ship Supplier of the Year: Middle East Fuji, LLC

Seatrade Lifetime Achievement Award 2016: Sharaf Group

Seatrade Personality of the Year Award 2016: Dr Khaled Al Mazrouei, Chief Executive Officer, Abu Dhabi Ship Building (ADSB)

Seatrade Young Person of the Year Award 2016: Mr Paul Katsouris, Senior Associate - Head of Greece Desk, Fichte Legal Consultants

Seatrade Outstanding Achievement Award 2016: Eng. Ibrahim Abdulrahman Al-Omar, Chief Executive Officer, Bahri

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.