Seatrade Maritime is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Esben Poulsson receives Seatrade Maritime Lifetime Achievement Award

Lifetime Achievement Winner (002).JPG
Esben Poulsson, ICS Chairman, has been awarded the prestigious Lifetime Achievement Award during yesterday’s 32nd Seatrade Awards which took place for the first time in association with Lloyd’s List.

Regarded as the industry’s leading awards programme, Seatrade Awards has been championing the work of individuals and organisations for over three decades. During the online ceremony, 14 more outstanding winners joined maritime’s greatest roll of honour for their remarkable commitment to the industry and outstanding achievements over the last 18 months.

Presenting Poulsson with his award, Chris Hayman, Chairman of Seatrade Maritime, said: “Reaching a milestone in one’s career of 50 years serving the same industry is rare, but our winner today has done just that.”

Hayman added during his citation: “Starting out in Hong Kong in 1971, Esben witnessed first-hand the rise of Asia as a powerhouse in international shipping. Based in Singapore for the last 18 years of his impressive career, he has played an important role in its development as a major global maritime centre and in fact now serves on the Board of the Maritime & Port Authority of Singapore.

“Despite holding several additional non-executive and advisory roles at key shipping companies, he is perhaps best known currently for his position as Chairman of The International Chamber of Shipping. Through that role he has continuously championed the value, importance and respect of the Seafarer and continues that mission to this day.

There are very few people in the Maritime industry with a career as long or impactful as his and it is for that reason that we recognize him here today”.

Each year, the winners are determined by a series of independent judging panels, who are made up of leading industry thought-leaders and CEOs. These judges bring an impressive wealth of industry expertise and category-specific knowledge, which ensures that only the most deserving achievements and initiatives are rewarded.

Chris Morley, Seatrade Maritime Event Director, added: “These awards are a testament to our sector and the vision of those who drive it. We would like to congratulate our recipients and express gratitude to our panels of judges for their unwavering support and insight in selecting our prestigious winners for 2021.”

The complete list of 2021 winners includes:


Safety at Sea Award

  • Cindicium

Investment in People Award

  • Qatar Airways

Sustainable Shipping Award

  • FUELSAVE GmbH - Green Technology GmbH
  • GoodFuels


Marine Digital Technology Award

  • ShipMoney

Cyber Security Award

  • Constellation Cyber Consultancy

New! Port & Terminal Digital Technology Award
In Association with TOC Events Worldwide

  • Wärtsilä Voyage


New! Sustainable Supply Chain Management Award
In Association with International Marine Purchasing Association (IMPA)

  • Port of Tyne

IMPA Sustainability Catalyst for Change Award
Supported by Seatrade Awards in association with Lloyd’s List

  • Paolo Magonio, Group Procurement Manager and Scorpio Ship Management S.A.M


Deal of the Year

  • Sovcomflot

Newcomer of the Year Award

  • Semiramis Paliou, Chairperson of the Board, Hellenic Marine Environment Protection Association (HELMEPA) & Chief Executive Officer, Diana Shipping Inc.

Diversity & Equality Award (sponsored by ADNOC Logistics & Services)

  • Karin Orsel, Chief Executive Officer, MF Shipping Group

Global Performer Award (sponsored by Bureau Veritas)

  • Global Maritime Forum

Personality of the Year Award

  • Seafarers

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Esben Poulsson, Chairman, International Chamber of Shipping

The next edition of Seatrade Awards will take place in 2023, with the return of an in-person celebration in London, United Kingdom. To learn more, visit

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.