Seatrade Maritime is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Ravi K Mehrotra wins Lifetime Achievement Award at Seatrade Awards

This year’s Seatrade Awards was a celebration of 30 years rewarding excellence across the shipping industry. The event had a celebratory feel which culminated in the last award which was given to Dr Ravi K. Mehrotra, CBE, Executive Chairman, Foresight Group for the Lifetime Achievement Award 2018.

A popular winner, Dr Mehrotra thanked his wife, the City of London and the Foresight Group before going on to give words of encouragement to the younger attendees in the room.

The other personality award winners included:

  • Young Person of the Year 2018 which was awarded to Jenny Evans, Master Spirit of France, P&O Ferries
  • Personality of the Year 2018 which was awarded to Dr Nikolas P. Tsakos, Chairman, INTERTANKO and Founder & CEO, Tsakos Energy Navigation (TEN)
  • Global Performer 2018 which was awarded to the China Cosco Shipping Corporation Limited and received by Mr Wang Gang, Director, Chief Executive, COSCO Shipping (UK) Co., Ltd

These were amongst esteemed figures and noteworthy individuals from across the shipping industry who gathered to honour the outstanding achievements and distinguished careers of winners at the Awards. Several guests who had attended over 20 of the 30 awards ceremonies each were amongst the 300-strong attendees, which included Chris Hayman, Chairman of Seatrade who, of course, launched the Seatrade Awards and has attended every one over the 30 years.

The ceremony took place at The Landmark London, Marleybone, and was hosted by Bob Jaques, Editor, Seatrade Maritime Review, in the presence of the guest of honour, Kitack Lim, IMO Secretary-General.

The awards, in time old tradition, remain a secret until the presentation ceremony and the winners are unveiled to great fanfare and celebration.

A full list of the deserving Seatrade Award winners can be found below: 

1. Safety at Sea

Announcer: Mr Yannis Calogeras, UK & Ireland Marine Chief Executive, Bureau Veritas UK


Received by: Mr Remko Huigen, M.D. MBA, Director Strategy and Business Development & Mr Walther Boon von Ochssee, Managing Director,

2. Clean Shipping

Sponsor: UK Ship Register

Announcer: Mr Doug Barrow, Director, UK Ship Register

Winner: aqua-tools

Received by: Ms Carine Magdo, Business Development Manager, B-QUA, Ballast Water Monitoring Solution, aqua-tools

3. Investment in People

Winner: Sailors’ Society

Received by: Mrs Sandra Welch, Deputy CEO, Sailors’ Society

4. Digital Technology Award

Sponsor: CCS (China Classification Society)

Announcer: Mr Hui Zhang, Managing Director of CCS European Center

Winner: Kongsberg Digital

Received by: Mr Vigleik Takle, Vice President & Commercial Manager Maritime & Mr Petter Aanonsen, Digital Marketing Specialist, Kongsberg Digital

5. Cyber Security Award

Winner: Naval Dome

Received by: Mr Itai Sela, CEO, Naval Dome

Highly Commended: CSO Alliance

6. Fuel Efficiency Award

Sponsor: DNV GL

Announcer: Mr Knut Ørbeck-Nilssen, CEO Maritime, DNV GL

Winner: ECOsubsea AS

Received by: Mr Klaus Østervold, COO, ECOsubsea AS

Highly Commended: The Fjords

7. Corporate Social Responsibility Award

Announcer: Mr Nigel Shattock, Director Fundraising & Communications, Seafarers UK and The Revd Canon Andrew Wright, Secretary General, The Mission to Seafarers

Winner: Costa Crociere S.p.A.

Received by: Mrs Yvonne Katende, Customer Success Manager, Winnow

Highly Commended: Maritime Anti-Corruption Network

8. Deal of the Year


Received by: Mr Paddy Rodgers, CEO, EURONAV NV

9. Young Person of the Year 2018

Winner: Capt. Jenny Evans, Master Spirit of France, P&O Ferries

10. Seatrade Special 30th Anniversary Award

Winner: Mr Harry Theochari, Vice Chairman, Maritime London and Global Head of Transport, Norton Rose Fulbright

11. Industry Anniversary Award

Winner: International Association of Classification Societies (IACS)

Received by: Mr Knut Ørbeck-Nilssen, Chairman, IACS

12. Global Performer 2018

Sponsor: DP World

Announcer: Mr Rashid Abdulla, CEO and MD, DP World Europe and Russia Region, DP World

Winner: China Cosco Shipping Corporation Limited

Received by: Mr Wang Gang, Director, Chief Executive, COSCO Shipping (UK) Co., Ltd

13. Personality of the Year 2018

Winner: Dr Nikolas P. Tsakos, Chairman, INTERTANKO and Founder & CEO, Tsakos Energy Navigation (TEN)

14. Lifetime Achievement Award 2018

Winner: Dr Ravi K. Mehrotra, CBE, Executive Chairman, Foresight Group

With thanks to our sponsors: Bureau Veritas, CCS, DNV GL, DP World, UK Ships Register

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
TMSRPan21-22 Category Promo 600_600-resize
Read Now

The 21st Edition of Panama Maritime Review

"We will invest in digital transformation, exploring innovative ways in which we can maxinimise the Canal's capacity to provide value guarentee quality of service to our customers."

Ricaurte Vásquez Morales, Panama Canal Administrator

Read Panama Maritime Review 2021/22 to find out more.

TMSRPan21-22 Category Promo 600_600-resize