Seatrade Maritime is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Michael D. Tusiani to be crowned CMA Commodore for 2024

Michael D. Tusiani  - new CMA Commodore for 2024
Michael D. Tusiani, Chairman Emeritus of Poten & Partners Inc., has been announced as the recipient of the prestigious Connecticut Maritime Association (CMA) Commodore Award for the year 2024.

Michael D. Tusiani has earned his place among esteemed leaders in the maritime industry, joining a select group of influential figures to receive the 2024 CMA Commodore Award. He will succeed the current Commodores, Cesare d’Amico and Paolo d’Amico, the distinguished Italian cousins leading the renowned d’Amico Group.

Each year, the CMA Commodore Award recognises individuals who have significantly contributed to the growth and development of the international maritime industry. The presentation of the 2024 Commodore Award is scheduled to take place during the Gala Dinner on Thursday, 14 March 2024, which will signify the conclusion of the 2024 CMA Shipping conference and expo, which will take place at the Hilton Hotel in Stamford, Connecticut, USA.

President of the Connecticut Maritime Association, Sandra Ennor expressed her admiration of this year’s recipient, stating: “Mr. Tusiani has a stellar reputation within the international maritime industry. On behalf of the CMA Board, we are thrilled to be presenting Michael D. Tusiani, Chairman Emeritus of Poten & Partners Inc., with the 2024 Commodore Award.”

“Having served as Chairman and CEO of Poten & Partners Inc. from 1983 to 2006, Mr. Tusiani has displayed a long-standing commitment to excellence, visionary leadership and unwavering dedication. Deservedly, he will now join an elite group of leaders who have been honored in the past as Commodores. We are delighted to have him join this illustrious circle and celebrate his successes at this year’s gala and conference,” added Ennor.

Michael D. Tusiani began his career in shipping in 1970 as an economist for Naess Shipping Company. After it was acquired in 1973, he joined Poten & Partners, a small tanker brokerage firm established in 1938. He was made responsible for the company’s diversification efforts. In his first ten years there, Tusiani developed new departments: oil and gases ship brokerage; offshore brokerage; financial services; and oil and gas consulting. During this same period, he acquired sole ownership of the company. In 1983 Tusiani was named Chairman and Chief Executive Officer. In 2007 he sold the company to its employees under an Employee Stock Option Plan (ESOP) but continued as CEO until 2016. He is currently Chairman Emeritus and remains active as a consultant.

Tusiani serves on several Boards of Trustees/Advisors: New York Presbyterian Hospital, Columbia University’s School of International & Public Affairs; Columbia University’s Center on Global Energy Policy; and Massachusetts Maritime Academy. He is also a member of the Council on Foreign Relations. He has written numerous articles on energy and shipping matters and authored or co-authored six books, The Petroleum Shipping Industry: A Nontechnical Overview (PennWell, 1996); The Petroleum Shipping Industry: Operations and Practices (PennWell, 1996); LNG: A Nontechnical Guide (PennWell, 2007); LNG: Fuel For A Changing World: A Nontechnical Guide (PennWell, 2016); LNG: After the Pandemic (PennWell, 2023); and, From Black Gold to Frozen Gas: How Qatar Became an Energy Superpower (Columbia University Press, 2023). He received a B.A from Long Island University and an M.A. in economics from Fordham University.

Former CMA Commodores include: Gary Vogel, Ole Skaarup, Jacob Stolt-Nielsen, George Livanos, Phil Loree, Thomas Moran, Gregory Hadjieleftheriadis, Dr. Helmut Sohmen, Gerhard Kurz, William O’Neil, Richard du Moulin, Per Heidenreich, Marc Saverys, Frank Tsao, Stelios Haji-Ioannou, Peter Georgiopoulos, C. Sean Day, Torben Jensen, Morten Arntzen, John Fredriksen, Capt. Wei Jiafu, Philippe Louis-Dreyfus, Angeliki Frangou, Øivind Lorentzen, III, Peter Evensen, Robert Bugbee, Capt. Panagiotis Tsakos, Paddy Rodgers, Jack Noonan, Sabrina Chao, John C. Hadjipateras, Lois Zabrocky and most recently Cesare d’Amico and Paolo d’Amico.

Brought to the industry by Connecticut Maritime Association and organised by Seatrade Maritime - Informa Markets, CMA Shipping will return to Hilton Stamford, Connecticut, from 12-14 March 2024.

TAGS: Event News