Seatrade Maritime is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Lui Tuck Yew, David Chin among those honoured at the Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia

Lui Tuck Yew, David Chin among those honoured at the Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia
The winners of the 9th Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia were unveiled and honoured across 15 award categories last night at the Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore.

Highly recognised and acknowledged as one of the region’s most prestigious industry awards, the awards gala dinner was attended by over 400 leading industry professionals and guests presented by travel television host and media personality – Anita Kapoor. Amongst the 49 finalists in the competitive categories, 11 well-deserving winners chosen by an independent panel of senior industry figures for their remarkable achievements despite the stiff competition and challenges within the martime industry.

As well as the 11 competitive award categories, four special awards were decided by the Seatrade Senior Editorial Board. These awards - namely the Contribution to the Development of Maritime Singapore, Seatrade Young Person of the Year, Seatrade Personality of the Year and Seatrade Lifetime Achievement Award - were presented to individuals for their exemplary contributions to the shipping industry.

Lui Tuck Yew, former Minister for Transport, was presented the prestigious Seatrade Lifetime Achievement Award, an award presented to very select few. Prior to his political career, Lui, a maritime veteran, was the former Chief of Navy and Chief Executive of the Maritime and Port Authority of Singapore.“I am truly delighted to be awarded the Seatrade Lifetime Achievement Award 2016. I have spent but a short time in the maritime sector. Hence, while this honour is given to an individual, it truly is less about an individual's contribution than it is to recognise our collective efforts to position Singapore as a maritime centre of global standing and international repute,” said Lui.

Masamichi Morooka, President and Chief Executive Officer of Yokohama Kawasaki International Port Corporation, was awarded the Seatrade Personality of the Year and Alan Hatton, Chief Executive Officer of FSL Trust Management Pte. Ltd, the Seatrade Young Person of the Year respectively.

David Chin, Executive Director of the Singapore Maritime Foundation was recognised and presented the Contribution to the Development of Maritime Singapore award for his unwavering commitment towards promoting Singapore as an International Maritime Centre. “May I thank Seatrade for this Award and I share this with all those who journeyed with me on this attempt to do a little bit more for Maritime Singapore. It has been my privilege and joy to have had many good colleagues and supportive friends over the years that made this journey satisfying, and yet full of fun.I thank them all again,” said Chin, expressing his heatfelt appreciation.

The awards celebration also took the opportunity to recognise the good work contributed by Sailors’ Society and The Mission to Seafarers, in their efforts to support and assist seafarers and their families. Donations from Seatrade were presented to both charities.

“Seatrade Maritime Awards Asia continues to serve as an important platform to recognise and applaud the outstanding achievements and contributions by individuals and companies in the maritime industry. I would like to congratulate all winners and thank our sponsors, judges , supporting partners and charities for the trust and support and joining us in this very meaningful celebration,” said Chris Hayman, Chairman of Seatrade.

List of winners

Award Category
Education & Training Award
Magsaysay People Resources Corporation
Environment Protection Award
Berge Bulk
Technical Innovation Award
AkzoNobel’s Marine Coatings Business, International
Corporate Social Responsibility Award
WillisTowersWatson, Norton Rose Fulbright and RPC
Safety Award
Pacific Basin Shipping
Ship Manager Award
Rickmers Shipmanagement (Singapore) Pte Ltd
Ship Owner/Operator Award
Swire Shipping
Ports & Terminals Award
Yantian International Container Terminals
Maritime Law Award
Stephenson Harwood
Ship Finance Award
ICBC Financial Leasing Co., Ltd
Shipbuilding & Repair Yard Award
Keppel Shipyard Limited
Contribution to the Development of Maritime Singapore
David Chin
Seatrade Personality of the Year 2016
Masamichi Morooka
Seatrade Young Person of the Year 2016
Alan Hatton
Seatrade Lifetime Achievement Award 2016
Lui Tuck Yew